What is important to you?

As we prepare to pack up to move to the Asia-Pacific Region, I am continually faced with that question.  What, really, is important to me?  Well, my God, my family, my friends those are all very important to me and make me who I am.  I am realizing more and more that what I have is not what makes me who I am, but who I know.  And knowing Christ as more than just God’s only Son, but also as my Savior and my Friend I can count on means everything to me.

I have to admit that I have been in tears more than once over the past few weeks as we have gone through our home making decisions on what we will and will not be taking with us.  But I have to keep reminding myself that those are just things.  Yes, many of them make life a little more convenient and make me feel pretty when I wear it, it all boils down to the question – what is important to me (us).

I have been reflecting on the two evacuations we had when living in West Africa and what it was that I packed in my suitcase when we left the country quickly.  I have to tell you that it was way different the second evacuation!  The first evacuation I took things that I thought I couldn’t bear to be without, but the 2nd evacuation I took the items that would help me be a good mother and wife, to feed my family and take care of them, because I realized that they were really what was important to me.

Family picture by Glen HushThis time around I am not taking my kids, and that is very difficult for me, but I do keep them in my heart where they will stay and no one can change that.  I am fighting back the tears just writing this.  I am really going to miss them, but I am so thankful to serve a God who loves my kids and will take care of them for me even if I am not with them.  I leave them in way better hands than mine, and that is comforting.

One thought on “What is important to you?

  1. Amen! 🙂 God is way better at taking care and comforting our loved ones we leave behind. Praying for your kids as you will have this transition.. I know how it feels to be left behind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

