Image

Something to think about

What seeds are you planting?  Seeds that will produce fruit or bitterness?
What seeds are you planting? Seeds that will produce fruit or bitterness?

Are you feeling like you don’t deserve the frustrating things that are happening?  Like there has to be something more to life than this?  I have had some of those feelings here recently…. And as a result have done some reading and deep soul searching.

What I have found is that I am not reaping rewards, because I didn’t sow the seeds!  In Idaho one can often see a bumper sticker that states NO FARMS = NO FOOD.  If you don’t plant the seeds, you won’t get any food.  I am not talking about prosperity here, I am simply saying – that I have been so busy with life and adjusting to a new culture, new foods, new living situation (empty nest) that I have been so caught up in myself that I have not intentionally planted any seeds of friendship, of love, or respect here.

Galatians 6:7-8 ESV Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.

It is a new day, a new week, a fresh start.  I want to start this week right – and to do that, I need to spend time with God.  Not just hurrying through my daily Bible Reading and Devotions, but really spending time soaking up the Word, listening to what God wants to say to me, and then acting on that as I go about my day. Not just going about MY day, but watching to see where God is working and joining Him!  Being sensitive to the Holy Spirit nudging me to do something, to talk to someone new, to keep a smile on my face no matter how frustrating things get.  To realize that it really is not all about me!

Will you join me this week?  Will you take the time to talk to God and really listen to Him?  My heart is convicted, if yours is too, let’s pray for each other.  There is power in prayer!

2 thoughts on “Something to think about

  1. Thank you for the solid reminder that our time invested in relationship with the Lord is so very valuable and necessary. Yes – new week, new situation, new season of our lives, new commitment to going deeper with Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

