Digging Deeper

Am I focused on Jesus or on the miracles……

As I am reading the book of John, about the interactions Jesus had with the Scribes and Pharisees, I ask myself this question. Am I focused on Jesus or on the miracles?8DC61FAC-80C8-42F5-A4A1-C027813418D2

In light of the global pandemic of Covid 19 and all the changes that has created, I am convicted that I need to be focusing on Jesus. There are so many “theories” out there from all sides, about the pandemic and about the best way forward. My prayer is that for me, I would not just look at the outward signs that I am seeing, but would truly dig deeper and see the “heart” of the matter and what positive things might come of this if I make the right decisions.

I have been in the US now for 52 days, having left PNG (and my sweet husband) a couple weeks early for the upcoming surgery due to the pandemic and borders closing across the globe. I am still waiting for my initial doctor’s appointment to even start the process of getting in line for surgery. (Finally have initial consultation scheduled for Monday 11 May)

IMG_7149Yesterday I joined a Zoom group that my Sister-in-law Andrea Landreth leads. The speaker was Shelley Merritt, a former missionary in the Philippines; there during the time we were, so we connected immediately. Her topic was on how we all are dealing with the isolation and what good things we have discovered and what we will take out of it going forward. I immediately thought of the post I had made on instagram (above). I don’t want to focus on all of the “theories” I want to focus on the deeper matters, of mercy and justice and faithfulness and above all Love!

With my surgery being postponed, many people across the globe have been praying for me – for healing, for relief from discomfort.

I can say, I have felt that miracle, (Thank you all)  as I have been able to play and interact with my very active grand daughter almost every day. Flying kites and Styrofoam airplanes, riding scooters and helping her climb trees in the park.


IMG_5424Today is not one of those days where I am able to do what I wish, but it makes me grateful for all the days that I have been able to. And in the midst of this miracle of many days of healing, even though today is pretty rough, I choose to seek Jesus and not just the miracle.

This entry was posted in My thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.